Dasari Narayana Rao

Dasari Narayana Rao is an Indian Writer, Lyricist, Producer, Actor and Director known for his works in Telugu Cinema. Hailing from a poor family background, Dasari never neglected his studies. He passed out from Andhra University in Bachelor of Arts.

Dasari made his debut as a director with Thatha Manavadu and in no time, he became the top directors of Telugu Cinema and was revered with the title “Dharshaka Ratna” by the film fraternity. Dasari Narayana Rao is said to have brought in the star value to the directors and holds the Guinness Record for directing the most number of films which are more than 150. Dasari’s movies had a didactic theme apart from commercial values.

Dasari Narayana Rao was one of the best directors during 70s and 80s era and most of his films are with legendary actor Akkineni Nageshwara Rao. Dasari’s few of the best films include Premabhishekam, Bobblipuli, Osey Ramulamma, Meghasandhesham, Srivari Muchatlu, Majnu, Sardar Papa Rayudu and Addala Meda. Apart from being a great filmmaker, Dasari was an active politician too. He represented the Congress Party as Minister of Coal. Dasari Narayana Rao was honored with Doctorate from Andhra University in 1986 and has been bestowed with 2 National, 9 Nandi and 6 Film fare South Awards for his contribution towards Cinema.